The College of All Souls of the Faithful Departed, of Oxford, was founded by Henry VI and Henry Chichele (fellow of New College and Archbishop of Canterbury), on 20 May 1438. Today the College is primarily an academic research institution at the University of Oxford, having strong ties to the public domain.